This Caught me…

A genuine leader is not a searcher for consensus, but a molder of consensus. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

How often do we as people, or especially Christians, seek the approval of others? How often do we live our lives like those around us? How often do we take an honest look at what influences us?

Jesus fit this statement. He was not interested in what the leaders of the day claimed was RC (religiously correct) – he was interested in setting the captive free, releasing people to their destinies, changing the course of culture and history for all time. He was interested in showing Godly love that can penetrate the deepest, darkest, untouchable areas and molding them into a new creation, a new thought, an new love. Jesus had a clear, Godly vision and worked to spread that vision – regardless of it’s popularity at that time.

I don’t know about you, but this encourages me as a person, a leader, and a Christian to take good look at the fruit of my life. Am I searching for consensus, or do I mold consensus? Do I live in a way that is pleasing to man, or live in a way that causes man to live pleasing to God? Am I comfortable with the status quo or being politically/religiously correct, or do I feel uncomfortable enough to constantly want heaven to touch earth and be Godly correct?

Does anyone even give a rip that you or I do what we’re doing? I hope the final tally will be “yes”; but that the final tally brings a smile to God’s face when He says it. I choose to not merely be, but to do.

See James 2:14-26 (especially in the Message Version) and Proverbs 29:18.

Leave a Reply

